These are a Few of My Favourite Things: 90s Edition

The release of the live action Lion King movie this past week really had me thinking about all the things I loved while growing up in the era of the original Lion King film. There are many things that set the 90s apart from other decades, but as I’ve learned the older I get, what is old will someday be cool again, at least for a little while. I thought it would be fun to talk about some of my favourite things from the 90s.

Movies & Television
As a young child in the 90s, there are many shows and movies I remember holding a special place in my heart and a semi-permanent home in my VCR. Of course, the 90s were a great time for Disney films: The Lion King, Aladdin, Pocahontas, Hercules, Beauty and the Beast, Toy Story, A Bug’s Life, and The Mighty Ducks just to name a few. Apart from Disney, there were also a number of movies I really loved growing up: Jurassic Park, Home Alone, TMNT, Dumb and Dumber, Space Jam, and Mrs. Doubtfire. Whether these films are special because of their nostalgic value, or if they are just really damn good, just thinking about them brings me joy. When I think of these films, I reflect on what emotions they evoke and the people I remember watching them with. Whether it be hanging out with my brothers watching Dumb and Dumber for the twelfth time, singing along to Just Around the Riverbend with my cousin, watching Home Alone at Christmas with my family, or acting out the fight scenes in TMNT, these films never fail to put me a good mood!

Just like film, there were many great television shows in the 90s that are iconic and special to me. I grew up watching The Simpsons, Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, Seinfeld, Full House, The X-Files, Saved by the Bell, Family Matters, Home Improvement, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Doug, 3rd Rock from the Sun, Frasier, Power Rangers, Magic School Bus, Married with Children – wow I really feel like I am forgetting some – television in the 90s was epic! Thanks to services like Netflix, it’s easier than ever nowadays to reminisce and rewatch all of your favourite shows from the past. I remember coming home after a long day of school, playing outside, and finishing homework to watching some of these great shows after dinner. Of course, I cannot forget Saturday morning cartoons! Ohhh the memories!

Fun & Games
Growing up in the 90s was a blast, much because of all the awesome toys, games and gadgets. Who can forget Sega Genesis and Sega Game Gear, Nintendo 64, Skip-Its, Super Soakers and NERF, Barbies and Polly Pockets; just to name a few. How about in gym class when the teacher let you play on those scooters? EPIC! Or when it was a Friday afternoon and you had some time to kill before dismissal so you played Heads Up-7-Up. Are you feeling nostalgic yet? I think it’s a safe bet that if you were a kid or pre-teen in the 90s you surely remember playing MASH with your friends. Lucky for me, I didn’t end up living in that Shack with Kevin from the Backstreet Boys…

Food
When I think about some of my favourite childhood foods and snacks I cannot help but laugh to myself because there were definitely some weird things that you clearly would only eat as a kid. Dunkaroos, Gushers, Warheads, Ring Pops, Pixie Sticks – what a rush! Remember how awesome it was when you went to a birthday party and got some of these wicked treats in your lootbag? In our house it was a treat when you got to have a Pizza Pocket, or even Jos Louis, or cereals like Fruity Pebbles and French Toast Crunch. Now I know that many of these things are still available in the grocery store now, but for me, they really symbolize growing up in the 90s.

Fashion
There is a part of me that wishes I was a teenager in the 90s so that I could have had more “creative” control in regards to my wardrobe. What I absolutely loved about the 90s was how much neon colours took over! As someone who adores colourful things, neon coloured clothing and accessories are my favourite. Some other 90s iconic fashion pieces were scrunchies, overalls, bomber jackets, and platform sneakers. You bet you can find most of these items in my closet today- and that brings me a lot of joy! When I think about fashion in the 90s I immediately think about The Spice Girls because I idolized everything about those fabulous girls. I recall begging to get some platform shoes and when I got a pair, I couldn’t walk around as casually as Scary Spice, but boy did I practice! Even if some of these fashion pieces weren’t back in style, you’d still likely find me wearing them nowadays anyway.

What decade is iconic for you? Are there things you loved about the 90s that I forgot to mention above? What are your favourite things from the 90s? I’d love to read your comments!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.