A 2010s Sendoff: Recapping the Last 10 Years (Part 3):

2015
I’m biased when I say that this was the best year of the decade, but that’s truly how I feel. This year was jam-packed with fun, adventures, celebrations, love and pure epicness. 2015 began with a few more snowboarding sessions, gameboard days turning into nights, and many things wedding- like saying “yes to the dress” after only trying on a few! March Madness included celebrating group birthdays, finding bridesmaids’ dresses, catching a concert or two and some Raptors’ games (we even got to meet Damon Stoudamire). Time was flying by, but it’s no surprise with so many wonderful events happening, and the biggest party of the summer was going to go down in a few short months.

In Spring, there was an epic paintball adventure for a good friend’s bachelorette party, followed by a menu tasting for my wedding with family, a getaway to Port Carling to visit our best friends, more attempts at golf, another concert (or two), and suit shopping with the groomsmen for our wedding. It wouldn’t be the 2010s without a few more Blue Jays games, and wedding season was officially on with my cousin’s wedding in June. June also meant another wonderful birthday celebration, as well as my brother’s graduation, exploring new provincial parks, and a dress fitting or two.

One month to go before our wedding, July began with the most amazing bachelorette weekend ever; I truly could not have asked for or planned a weekend that was so much fun. I headed to Niagara Falls with some of my favourite gal pals for three days of laughs, love and adventure. My BFF and my MOH (Maid of Honour) planned a night of interactive party games, followed up a full day of an Amazing Race style scavenger hunt that had two teams racing all up, down and around Niagara Falls, and closing it out with a superb dinner and night of dancing! Anyone who knows me, knows that I am near impossible to surprise, and being such a planner, to have someone take over all control of planning my bachelorette party was difficult for me, but she truly hit a grand slam home-run with that weekend! Truly one of the best weekends of my life. Believe it or not, I was totally brought to tears that weekend, not only because I was given a special keepsake scrapbook with messages and photos from all my gal pals, but in all reality, growing up with so many guy friends, I never thought that I would have so many amazing ladies in my life to call my good friends and celebrate my bachelorette with me; oh and facetiming my cousin/bridesmaid in Newfoundland in the weekend also made me cry; another rare sight.

It was finally August which means we were days away from our wedding. Most of the days leading up to the wedding were pretty standard stuff: pick up the dress, pick up the suits, drop off the centerpieces to the flourist, get the rehearsal done, then contain your excitement for the biggest party of the summer! My husband and I are truly blessed because no two people could have felt more love on our wedding day than the two of us; its cliche but it’s true. Being together for almost 10 years by our wedding, everyone had built-up excitement and enthusiasm for our big day. With all the “you’re finally getting married” lines out of the way, our wedding was also a great opportunity for my family to get together and celebrate something wonderful; for the first time in years both my mom’s and dad’s sides of the family were under the same roof, laughing, smiling and catching up. Walking into the hall, you could feel all the joy, love, and positive emotions in the room, and it’s a feeling I will never forget. August 15th 2015 was a scorcher day, weather wise, so thank goodness for an indoor wedding venue and an open-bar! We celebrated our wedding day with about 175 friends and family, ate way too much delicious food, and drank all the thirst quenching beverages in sight! When the clock struck midnight we ate a little more and continued to dance the late night away. The next day, we travelled to Great Wolf Lodge in Niagara Falls for a little post-wedding getaway with our wedding party; our best and closest friends supported us so much through our entire relationship and the wedding planning process we wanted to thank them but also celebrate an extra special way with them for getting us married. Incase you couldn’t tell, we’re big kids at heart so waterslides and hanging out playing games is an ideal weekend for us; we had an absolute blast!

In Fall 2015 there was no slowing down, as two of our dear friends would also be tying the knot; one in September and another in October. There was also another successful Client Appreciation Party thrown by my brother and sister-in-law for their real estate business clients; which started in 2013 and was growing in numbers each year. Round out October with another concert, and what would become an annual tradition Halloween bash at our house! November brought upon a new apartment warming party for our friends, and yes, another road trip to Ottawa where we’d discover a hidden gem winery and the epic Diefenbunker museum. We cannot forget those epic board game nights too.

Just when you thought 2015 couldn’t possibly fit any more epicness into it, Star Wars was back in theatres for the first time in 10 years! Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens was released and really, the force awoke in almost everyone; what an exciting time! We closed out the year with what would become another annual tradition: Friendship Christmas. With the decade half over, it was difficult to picture what other events might occur that would be as life changing as the last few years. 2015 was one of the happiest years of my life, so 2016 had some pretty big shoes to fill. It was unlikely that it would match that bar but it came pretty close.

2016
Most of 2016 started off with the same likeness as 2015; much snowboarding and game nights and new experiences like escape rooms! In February, Jeff and I would visit Ochi Rios, Jamaica for our honeymoon in what would be the most pampered and relaxing experience of my life; I am forever thankful for how astounding that vacation was! A honeymoon really is a once in a lifetime experience, and having a private pool, butler service and such amazing food and drink at our fingertips was overwhelming, but in a good way! In addition to relaxing poolside and at the beach, we were able to visit Dunns River for the day. Our honeymoon was wonderful because we got to spend time away from everyday life and we got to do it together; a nice reminder to slow down and take in the little moments. Taking our honeymoon 6 months after our actual wedding was also a great refresher of those exciting feels you get on your wedding day!

After our honeymoon, Jeff and I visited the humane society and picked out a new furry friend to bring home. Initially we were told this adorable little white and grey kitty was a girl, so we named her Zelda; my husband is a huge Legend of Zelda fan. A week later when we took Zelda to the vet, we found out that Zelda was actually a boy. For a day or two, The Cat Formally Known as Zelda had no new name, but eventually we decided on Hobbes; like the comic strip Calvin and Hobbes. I was so overjoyed to have a cat back in my life, and to this day we love and adore Hobbes dearly.

Spring 2016 brought on live wrestling events, another concert or two, some treetop trekking, another Raptors playoff run, more exploring of our provincial parks, a friend’s baby shower, and an epic archery tag birthday party for yours truly! I was also asked to be a bridesmaid in my dear friends wedding, which was going to be in January 2017, so there were a handful of bridal preparations throughout this year that I was helping the bride-to-be get checked off her list. A few days after my birthday, my best friend and I took a road trip to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to catch the Blue Jays on the road, but also partake in some American history. I love road trips because they bring out some of the best conversations, carpool karaoke sessions, and just an overall grand adventure you’ll remember for a lifetime. Being history majors, we adored how rich in history Philadelphia was from the liberty bell, to Independence Hall, and the National Constitution Centre, and Eastern State Penitentiary, much fun was had! Yes, we climbed those famous Rocky-steps up the museum, and of course we indulged in some Philly Cheesesteak! The Jays games were blast; ballpark food is out of this world in the States, and we may have fallen in love with the Phillie Phanatic. If you’ve never been to Philadelphia, I highly recommend it!

Summer kicked off with my brother’s wedding, a cottage bachelorette weekend for my dear friend, more outdoor adventures at some provincial parks, continued treetop trekking adventures, friends’ having babies, another round of Rogers’ Cup tennis, and cottage weekends. For the first time in forever, we got to spend the long-weekend away at the cottage with friends, and oh what laughs were had! Truly a great little getaway with some really amazing people. A cousin’s wedding would close out the summer, as would some natural rock climbing adventures; note to anyone wanting to try this- it’s quite an experience but it definitely takes a toll on your body- especially if you do not exercise or climb regularly; worth a try though if you love outdoor adventures.

Before I go on any further about the wonderful things that continued to happen in 2016, I would like to take a moment and touch upon the other things going on in my life at this time. Having been at my job for about four years now, I had taken on much more responsibility with every passing school year and it was beginning to take its toll on me. Long work days followed by after hours phone calls from staff, coupled with continuous lack of staff to cover programs had me stretched out pretty thin attempting to do my job in addition to that of the front-line staff who were either ill, needed time off or were practically non-existent. I enjoy being challenged in the workplace and I face new responsibilities with a positive attitude, but day in and day out of the same constant problems with no support from head office to help our small team was equal parts physically and emotionally draining. While I adored my supervisors very much, we were all under a great deal of stress trying to juggle all the roles, paperwork, staff and parents that were knocking at our door each day. The circumstances of my career took a toll on me because I didn’t want to walk away from a challenge and I was learning so much valuable experience and skill set that could never be taught in a classroom. More importantly, I wasn’t sure where I would go next if I left the company; although I was a teacher by trade, I was certain that going back on the supply list or being in the classroom wasn’t exactly what I wanted. I took much of 2016 as a chance to think more clearly about what would be next for me as a career, but more on that later!

September 2016 was another magical time because I would return to Walt Disney World with my best friend and a good friend of ours from Nipissing who moved overseas would be joining us! We ventured to Epcot for the Food and Wine Festival, indulging in delicious food from all over the world throughout the World Showcase exhibit. We met a ton of characters in Magic Kingdom, took a Jungle Cruise, ate lunch with the friends from the Hundred Acre Woods, and visited Animal Kingdom for the first time! The highlight of our trip was Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party, which was an after-dark event at Magic Kingdom where all guests could dress up and go trick-or-treating throughout the park, meet villains and ride some attractions! We dressed up as the Aliens from Toy Story; so many people loved our costumes, especially Buzz Lightyear. Such a magnificent vacation it was, especially because it would be the last time I would see my friend from overseas for a long time!

The closing months of 2016 included our second annual Halloween Party, a few more board game nights, escape rooms, and more frequent hockey games where my nephew was the star player! A wine and cheese night was thrown into the mix, as was a bridal shower/fiesta for the January bride-to-be, another road trip to Ottawa, and yes- another Star Wars story (Rogue One). Last but not least, a lovely Friendship Christmas was had, followed by a pajama party New Years Eve. 2016 had some big shoes to fill, and all things considered, it didn’t disappoint. The year continued to strengthen many bonds made years prior, while introducing some new people into my life as well. Friends of mine were starting or growing their families, and changes were brewing! With my dear friends wedding mere days away, I was excited for all that 2017 would bring even if it was a tad scary! Stay tuned…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.