A 2010s Sendoff: Recapping the Last 10 Years (Part 1):

It’s been far too long since my last blog, and I was waiting for the right kind of topic to get my writing juices flowing once again! I figured that with the New Year (and decade) around the corner, now was a great time to stop and take some time to reflect upon some of the many different things life threw at me over the past ten years. A lot can happen in a decade, and a lot did happen this decade! The 2010s brought on many changes, opportunities, losses and gains, adventures, challenges, friends, upsets, and through all of it, a greater sense of myself. I surely can’t recap everything, but I’ve compiled a good list of highlights within this blog post; for clarity sake, I am recapping in chronological order by year, but will break it down into a few blog posts. So let’s send off the 2010s with a stroll down memory lane.

2010

At the beginning of the decade, I was in my 4th year at Nipissing University deeply invested in my final term research papers for History. This was a bitter-sweet year because many of my friends would be graduating, and while some of them would be back for teacher’s college in the fall, the frequency in which we would see each other would diminish greatly due to placements and changing class schedules. This was also the last year that I would live with my best friend, as she was graduating in June and starting at a new school in September. Despite 4th year being quite academically heavy, my friends and I arguably spent the most time out-and-about at Cecil’s on Thursday nights, or exploring everything that North Bay had to offer, and making the most out of birthday celebrations. We made a lot of memories that year; it was the last semester with the gang all together at school and when you’re young, you hold onto those moments for as long as you can! The winter semester of 2010 was loads of fun, and Convocation meant that the new decade meant shifting into full-blown adult mode!

With school out until September, it was time to catch up with friends from back home, and work a ridiculous amount of hours- I had 3 jobs that summer plus a few weeks of teaching practicum in the spring – but still tried my best to have a life! My Mom was visiting from British Columbia, I was helping direct a school play, Jose Bautista was a Toronto Blue Jay, and we had to arrive at the theatre an hour or more before any blockbuster film to ensure that we’d get optimal seats, and that we’d all sit together; Iron Man 2 was in theatres that summer. I had the opportunity to experience a few concerts too, including Michael Buble and Rob Thomas, went camping, had some late nights at the drive-in, had adventures in Ottawa, and also visited British Columbia. My childhood cat, Silver was so happy to see me, and sadly it would be the last time I saw him as he died in 2011. When summer ended, I went back to Nipissing for my final year, and had the opportunity to live with my very first friend at Nipissing; her family was kind enough to welcome me into their home for a few short months before my final teaching practicum would begin. Once 2010 was coming to an end, my friend Michael and I celebrated at the stroke of midnight by indulging in chocolate; we had decided to give it up for the year – much to the disapproval of our friends, but more of that to come as the decade goes on.

2011
This is a year that I remember quite vividly, as there were many powerful moments that I experienced in these 12 months. I began 2011 with the adventure of a lifetime as I embarked on a month long trip to Ecuador. Here, I not only taught English in a local school but had the chance to visit the Amazon Rainforest, as well as learn so much about the culture and people of Ecuador. It is still one of the best experiences of my life, and a place I’d love to go back and visit again.

Much fun was had this year: I got to sit courtside at the Harlem Globetrotters game, experience Medieval Times dinner theatre, took in a ton more Blue Jays games, witnessed a longtime friend get married, and got accepted into Grad School. In June, I graduated from Nipissing University with two degrees and got to celebrate my graduation in conjunction with my 23rd birthday; it also meant I was saying goodbye to North Bay, which had been my home away from home for 5 years.

Summer 2011 I spent preparing for my move to Kingston, as I would be starting my Master’s Degree at Queen’s in August; my first time having to hunt for an apartment! Adjusting to the big campus lifestyle was a bit overwhelming at times, as Queens was so different compared to Nipissing, but I quickly made a good friend and felt right at home in no time. I really liked the city of Kingston and got to spend more time with a friend of mine from Nipissing who lived out that way. Many fun nights were had in my apartment, including the Halloween where we all coincidently dressed as pirates, and although my childhood pet passed away, I was gifted with a new kitty, Tyson who made living alone a lot less lonely.

2011 continued to bring new experiences, as for the first time ever, I would become an Aunt; my nephews Elliott and Benjamin were born only a month apart in November and December. We closed out 2011 by counting down the New Year with the Pizza delivery guy – as Michael and I were excited to indulge in pizza at the stroke of midnight after giving it up for the year.

2012
Just like 2010, in 2012 I was in the heart of my thesis at school, working towards completing and hopefully publishing my cognate by the summer. Still enjoying my time at Queens, the beginning of 2012 meant a lot more research, with too many hours spent in the archives. In February, my beloved VW Jetta had to be replaced – that car had experienced so many fun road trips – but a new car (Mazda 3) would take its place and provide many wonderful driving memories. In the early spring, our Nipissing University Crew (NU Crew) returned to North Bay for a reunion and held our first ever wine tasting evening; it was eventful and ever so much fun. Additionally, my boyfriend (now husband) and I celebrated 7 years together with our first ever vacation, travelling to the Dominican Republic; highlights of the trip included snorkeling, boating, and simply relaxing together poolside and at the beach.

I spent much of Spring 2012 job searching, as I knew my studies were coming to an end, and I wasn’t going to be living in Kingston much longer. My Summer didn’t really start until the middle of July, as I was busy finishing my cognate and awaiting for it to be approved by the university. I visited home periodically to see family and friends, while also taking the time to catch some baseball, hit up Canada’s Wonderland, and take in a concert or two; I saw one of the best Coldplay concerts that summer. I took a lot of time to visit my Grandma that summer, and I was really glad I did, as she ended up passing away later in the year.

Before moving back home, I celebrated my 24th birthday in Kingston; so many of my friends made it out to visit, I felt really loved and blessed that year. The end of the summer was actually pretty uneasy for me; an old teacher/friend passed away, my grandma’s health was declining, and for the first time in a long time, there were many unknowns regarding what I was going to be doing come September. I tried to remain in high spirits, making the most of the free time I had for the first time in (what seemed like) forever. Some highlights include: ziplining, attending Rogers’ Cup Tennis, visiting Sandbanks , camping, and Benjamin’s baptism.

A week before the school year was going to start, I accepted a new job working in a Before and After School program, and my future didn’t seem so scary. Ask anyone close to me, what the month of August was like for me, and they’ll chuckle and say I was very concerned that I would be jobless forever; in my defense, I was used to working 2-3 jobs every summer and going back to school in September, so 2012 was a new experience for me since I finished my Master’s program and therefore wouldn’t be returning to school. A few weeks into my new job, I was struck with news of my Grandma dying. My Grandma and I were quite close, and had grown even closer the last 5 or so years before her death; that year I was visiting her almost on a weekly basis. My Grandma dying wasn’t the only difficult experience I faced during the tail-end of 2012; the classroom which I was working in was quite intense, with high behavioural needs and while I learned so much real life teaching experience and behaviour management skills, on some days it was really difficult to feel excited about going to work. A highlight during this time though was finally being able to have Jeff, my boyfriend at the time (now husband) after 7 years of dating, move in with me.

The end of 2012 wasn’t actually the end of the world, and I happily rang in the New Year with many of my close friends. Few people knew that my Dad was becoming pretty sick by the end of the year, and given all the changes that happened throughout the year, I was looking forward to beginning a new year. While it wasn’t an easy year, 2012 provided so much growth and perspective. I learned a lot, not only academically but also about myself: my insecurities (letting go of control) my strength, will, determination and my relationships. Oh, and with 2012 coming to a close, it meant that Michael and I were able to eat ice cream again (among other things!).

Three years down, 7 more to go! Stay tuned for the next blog.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.